Skip to content

Halloween is the best holiday of all

October 21, 2010

We are nearly one week out from Halloween and I could not be more excited.  It is arguably the best holiday.  Let me outline my case for you:

1) It is a holiday based almost entirely around candy.  Many holidays have an integral food component (Thanksgiving being another rapidly approaching), even a few that incorporate candy (Valentine’s Day comes to mind), but none revolve almost entirely around the retrieval and consumption of candy.  Trick or Treat?  Treat, please.

2) You get to wear costumes.  I mean, do I have to explain this?  You get to plan your outfit for one night for an entire year.  That outfit can be anything you want.  You can coordinate with a friend.  You can pretend to be someone you are not.  You can be her if you so choose:

3) There’s no pressure.  Most holidays are built up for a year.  New Year’s Eve is never as great as you expect it to be, particularly when you wake up and realize now it’s January and FREEZING again. Even Thanksgiving (another of the great food holidays) has build-up and let-down.  You plan and execute a meal for hours and then you are finished with the food within 30 minutes and left feeling bloated and with a sink of dishes.  Halloween takes a different meaning as you age  and as such, there aren’t any expectations for the upcoming year (well, except the expectation of delicious candy).

What else do I need to say?!

The past two years I have had remarkable costumes.  Last year my friends decided to go as the 12 months of the year.  I chose February.  I wore this ridiculous cat skirt (don’t ask) with a gold lame jacket and went as a Cat Lady, so I didn’t have a valentine on Valentine’s Day.  The year before I went as a never-nude from Arrested Development.  Sadly, about four people I ran into actually watched the show, so it was mostly lost on the masses.

I am at a bit of a loss for this year’s costume.  I have an idea, but I will wait to share it with you next weekend.

Finally, the thematic of Halloween is wonderful.  It’s not too cold, but most definitely fall.  People are in the fall spirit with decorating and baking.  Take a look at these wonderful Halloween treats from The Kitchn:

2010_10_21-Slinkage.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is your favorite part about Halloween?  What are you going to be this year?  Most importantly, what is your favorite type of candy?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. William T. permalink
    October 23, 2010 8:29 pm

    No photos of Miss February Cat-skirt?

    For Halloween this year, I’m going to be Erin McKean:

    I can out-dork you any day, Miss Elizabeth W.

  2. October 28, 2010 6:54 am

    My favourite part of halloween is that it’s my birthday!

Leave a Reply

