Skip to content

AOL Buys Tech Crunch

September 29, 2010

On the tail of my recent post about authority, AOL and Tech Crunch stand to become the greatest authority in the tech news community(second to me, of course).   Today it was announced that AOL is buying Tech Crunch as well as a few other media outlets for an undisclosed sum of money.

Tech Crunch may be the largest tech blog at the moment at 2.3 million visitors per month (via Compete).  The purchase represents the marriage of one past technology giant trying to regain its footing by acquiring a current one.   However, I am not so sure it will succeed.

Part of what makes Tech Crunch great is the personality behind it.  Not just Michael Arrington and his writers, but TC’s attitude about the news.

I even had an email about the transaction waiting for me this morning from a friend.  For us geeks, this is a big deal.

Mostly I am afraid that Tech Crunch will lose its personality and become just another news outlet.  As a result, it’s been very interesting watching TC cover the acquisition.  They presented it like any other news at first, however, just today they posted this song, which sums it up well:

Oh Wake up, wake up, it’s eight o’ clock on a wednesday morning
I’m checking my mails and Google Reader – yeah I know, It sounds boring

I open up the Techcrunch feed and I still cannot believe

Oh Techcrunch, Techcrunch you help Startups get a little exposure
We’re one of those and you’re the reason investors signed our non disclosure
We even found the one, so we’re glad that you found a nice one, too

I hope TC stays the same
There’s not a thing that I would change
Because you’re amazing just the way you are

Techcrunch’s not your blog
Infact it belongs to all of us
That makes it amazing just the way it is

Hey Mike, do you listen
I want to say thank you for you’ve done.

And congratulations for selling Techcrunch to AOL
Greetings from you beloved clone-capital Germany

The fact that they posted this give me hope.  If not, this song is definitely a highlight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

