Skip to content

The Apple Tablet

January 26, 2010

apple tablet image

I have waited to post about the Apple Tablet/iSlate/iPad even though news of its existence broke soon after that of the Nexus One.  The blogosphere is full of rumors about this fabled device and everyone seems to have an opinion.  Given that I am not an Apple user (BlackBerry, Think Pad, my exception being the ubiquitous iPod) I did not feel that I had the authority to comment, so I direct you to this Mashable  article.

However, TechCrunch has started another rumor about the Apple Tablet: that Jack Bauer may be the first to get his hands on the device.  Damn that Jack Bauer.  Apple has apparently long partnered with 24 in product placements.  I am curious to see how Jack uses the tablet.

Apple’s products aren’t exactly know for their durability, so it will be harder for him to use it outside the office.  This will be a failing for average users as well.  I am interested to see how the tablet will be used by consumers.  Historically, a tablet has just been a function of a standard computer, rarely a stand-alone device.  So will consumers use it like a phone or a computer.

While I am not certain of the branding Apple has in mind, if Jack Bauer is using it, you know it will be awesome. As everyone (by everyone I mean the tech bloggers) is speculating, Apple will release the tablet tomorrow and shipping will start around March.

How will you use the Apple Tablet?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 7:29 pm

    I think everyone waits for Steve jobs to release that!

  2. Roger Cayer permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:38 pm

    It (the tablet) was shown on 24 on Monday, January 25 for about 1-2 seconds. Jack Bauer had it in his car so I suppose it will be durable.
    I dropped my Mac Book Pro 17 in. from the top of my Jeep (about 6 feet) onto an asphalt parking lot last July. Really dinged up but still totally functional.

Leave a Reply

