Skip to content

Digital Cleanse, anyone?

December 31, 2009

I’ve recently gotten more into Twitter.  I’ve had an account for months, but mostly left it inactive.  In the past couple weeks, maybe out of boredom from vacation, I have started following more people and actively tweeting.  While I consider this a positive addition to my life, one of the new people I follow, John Mayer @johncmayer, does not.

Mayer is suggesting that everyone take a “Digital Cleanse” starting January 1st at 9am.  These are the guidelines for the cleanse:

Begins on January 1 at 9AM and runs until January 8 at 9AM
*email only from laptop or desktop computers
*cell phones can only be used to make calls, and no text messages or e-mails are allowed – if you receive a text, you must reply in voice over the phone. E-mails must be returned from a laptop or desktop computer.
*no use of Twitter or any other social networking site – this includes reading as well as posting.
*no visiting of any entertainment or gossip sites. (No need to detail which ones – you know what they are.)

All that sounds pretty reasonable, actually.  Remember back a couple years ago when you weren’t as tethered to your email/phone/internet?  Life was simplified, I guess.   I am a believer in the positive force of technology, in making the world more efficient.  However, with this efficiency, I think our brain (a muscle after all) forgets how to function on its own without constant stimulation.

I heard the Aughts described as a decade for those with ADD, “who will have forgotten the point of this post by the time they finish reading this sentence.” And that’s dangerous.

While I will not be partaking in this cleanse, for several reasons, including I don’t want John Mayer dictating my life…  However, he has over 2.8 million followers (same as KIM!) and that’s some real sway.

Will you participate?  Would you want to?  Would it impact your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

