Skip to content

25,538,791 new friends

October 29, 2009

Today, I told my friends that I’m creating a blog.  Shane exclaimed, “Oh, I saw that on Twitter.”  My friends just gave us blank stares and erupted into laughter.  What was so funny about what we were doing?

Turns out, none of my close friends are on Twitter and they certainly don’t have blogs.  According to Compete.com, Twitter has 23,538,791 unique visitors per month.  My friends are not a part of that twenty-three million.  But why the hesitation to embrace social media?

These girls are all on Facebook and use it consistently.  They post pictures, write on walls, send messages and even chat — daily.  They are on YouTube, sending out the latest viral video.  They gchat constantly.  For whatever reason, these are acceptable and mainstream forms of social media and my friends are willing to embrace them fully.

I think the hesitation to try and accept new forms of social media comes from a lack of understanding of the use and relevance.  If none of your friends are on Twitter, what is the point in joining?  Follow Kim Kardashian, you don’t need real friends :).

Blogging also has a bad rep.  I equate them with the self-indulgent Live Journals from middle school, which were not only vain, but totally uncool.  Who will even read it?  What should I say?

Part of the problem may that there are so many new sites: Flicker, Tumblr, Orkut, Bebo, FriendFeed to name a few.  It’s hard enough to keep up, let alone pronounce them all.

I challenge my friends to try a new site for a week, see if they like it.  They won’t be laughing as update their profiles on LinkedIn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shane lives permalink
    October 29, 2009 10:29 pm

    I take personal offense to this for many reasons.

    1. I get it, Liz. I’m not a close friend. God.

    2. Kim Kardashian’s life is more exciting than any of yours, so HMRPH!

Leave a Reply

